Sell on Amazon Sign In
This article applies to selling in: France

Returns and refunds process for Seller Fulfilled Prime

This page provides information on how to process customer returns, including seller expectations and exception handling mechanisms.

Customer return process

Seller Fulfilled Prime returns can be initiated by the customer through the Online Returns Center. Customers can also contact Amazon Customer Service for this purpose. In the returns process, the customer is asked for a return reason. The customer can also provide additional, optional comments to provide more information on the return reason.

All in-policy Seller Fulfilled Prime returns are auto-authorized. You do not have to manually authorize returns. However, you are required to refund the customer within two business days after you receive the product back.

Amazon provides the customer the expected timeline for refund and the expected refund amount. At the end of the process, a Return Mailing Authorization (RMA) is created. Return carrier is Chronopost. With Chronopost, customer creates a return authorization and reaches out to you to provide a return label. You have 2 business days to provide a return label to the customer. Customer is asked to drop off the package at the nearest Chronopost depot.

Returns process through Chronopost

This process will be applicable to you if you use Chronopost as you Seller Fulfilled Prime carrier:

  1. You fill in the ‘returns instructions’* in Seller Central (Return setting > Your return instruction and copy/paste). For return instructions to be used, see below.
  2. Customers goes on Amazon ‘Returns & Replacements’ and request a return
  3. The return is auto-authorized by Amazon
  4. Instructions are displayed to the customer (in short: ‘For Prime orders the seller will provide you a prepaid label in 2 business days’)
  5. The customer sends you a message asking for a pre-paid label, as per return instructions.
  6. You have 2 business day to provide a Chronopost return label to the customer
  7. Customer drops the package at drop-off points (17K drop off points in FR)
  8. You have 48h to provide the refund to the customer after you receives the return back at your address.

You will receive a return case and have to provide a Chronopost prepaid return label in 2-business days. If the seller does not respect this SLA, the customer will be refunded by Amazon Customer Service.

*Please download here Return instruction (To be provided in Return Settings)

Return carrier and tracking information

If you use Chronopost for Seller Fulfilled Prime, then the return carrier will also be Chronopost. You are required to generate the pre-paid label from the Chronopost system and provide to the customer. You should have the tracking ID of the label generated.

Refund responsibility

The primary responsibility to refund the customer for a return lies with the seller. Once the returned package is received at the seller’s return address, the seller is expected to refund the customer within two business days.

However, Amazon reserves the right to refund the customer at any time. If a customer contacts Amazon Customer Service because a refund has not been issued in time, Amazon Customer Service may, at its sole discretion, refund the buyer, and the seller may be charged for such a refund.

Charges for the return label

For Chronopost return, sellers are to provide return label to the customer within two business days of receiving the return case.

After you receive the returned package, the seller can deduct the cost of the return label from the refund issued to the customer if the following conditions are satisfied::

  1. If the item is in the product category of Clothing, Shoes, or Handbags, returns are always free, irrespective of the return reason. Label cost cannot be deducted.
  2. For other cases,
    1. If the return reason is "seller-responsible", then the return is free. Label cost cannot be deducted.
    2. If the return reason is "buyer-responsible", then the label cost can be deducted.
    Sl. No. Return Reason Responsibility
    1 Accidental order Buyer
    2 Better price available Buyer
    3 The shipping box or envelope isn’t damaged, but the item is damaged Seller
    4 Missed estimated delivery date Seller
    5 Missing parts or accessories Seller
    6 The shipping box or envelope and item are both damaged Seller
    7 Wrong item sent Seller
    8 Defective or does not work properly Seller
    9 Arrived in addition to what was ordered Seller
    10 No longer needed or wanted Buyer
    11 Unauthorized purchase Seller
    12 Description on the website was not accurate Seller
    13 Damaged during delivery Seller
    14 Performance or quality not adequate Buyer
    15 Incompatible or not useful for intended purpose Buyer
    16 Damaged due to inappropriate packaging Seller
    17 Part not compatible with the existing system Buyer
    18 Excessive installation or did not install Buyer

In most circumstances, customers will use the return shipping method provided by Amazon. However, as an exception, some customers may need to use a different return shipping service. Amazon Customer Service has full rights to refund the customer the price of the label. As a requirement of this program, sellers must accept such charges. Such label charges are not reimbursable.

Returnless refunds

Sometimes the customer may be refunded by Amazon but the seller does not get the product back. There may be different reasons why:

  1. The tracking shows the item was delivered; however, no return request exists, yet the customer has been refunded. This may be because the customer never received the product. In this case, sellers may claim reimbursement from Amazon by contacting Seller Support. (Note that if the refund is because of delayed delivery, then those orders will not be reimbursed). For more details, see Seller reimbursements for Seller Fulfilled Prime.
  2. The tracking does not show the item was delivered. The promised delivery date has passed and the customer has been refunded. This may be because the package was lost or misplaced in transit by the carrier. In this case, sellers should contact the carrier for reimbursement. For such requests please call your carrier account manager or call: +0033 0 825 801 801 Chronopost.
  3. The tracking shows the item was delivered, and a return request exists for the order. Look at the tracking ID for return (available in Manage Your Returns page for the order). If the customer has returned the product but it has not reached the seller, then it may be because the package was lost or misplaced in transit by the carrier. In this case, sellers should contact the carrier for reimbursement. For such requests please call your carrier account manager or call: +0033 0 825 801 801 Chronopost.
  4. Some products (like hygienic products, grocery or food items, etc.) are non-returnable by law. Those products are not eligible for return, and Amazon customer service may refund the customer without a return. Such orders are not reimbursable.

Sellers must not, under any circumstance, contact the customer for getting the product back for a valid return request. Depending on the situation described above, they may claim reimbursement from Amazon or the carrier.

Damaged returns

If the returned product is damaged, then the seller must establish whether this is carrier damage (e.g. damaged to packaging, transportation induced damage) or customer damage (e.g. damage to internal parts).

  1. Carrier damage: Any such damage must be reported to the carrier and reimbursement claimed directly from the carrier. For such requests please call your carrier account manager or call: +0033 0 825 801 801 Chronopost.
  2. Customer damage: For customer damaged returns, the seller can deduct up to a maximum of 50% of the product price in the refund to the customer. If the refund is provided by Amazon Customer Service to the customer, then sellers may contact Amazon Seller Support for a possible reimbursement. Sellers may be asked to provide evidence (photo or video) of the customer damage to Amazon. For more details, see Seller reimbursements for Seller Fulfilled Prime.

Sellers must not under any circumstances contact the customer on issues related to damage to the product. Depending on the situation described above, they may claim reimbursement from Amazon or the carrier.

Returns authorized out of standard policy

Amazon Customer Service will provide, and have sole discretion in determining, all post-order customer service to Prime items, including customer returns, refunds and adjustments to Seller Fulfilled Prime items (such as return-less refunds, partial or full refunds, change of fees charged by sellers, changes to the shipping speed and shipping price for an order, refunds of the shipping charge, cancellation of an order or returns including a refund outside the stated return window).

For all such returns authorized by Amazon customer service, even outside of the return window, sellers need to provide a full refund to the customer (unless damaged, in which case sellers can deduct up to a maximum of 50%) within two business days after receiving the product.

Check Customer Service for Seller Fulfilled Prime for more information.

Sign in to use the tool and get personalized help (desktop browser required). Sign In


Reach hundreds of millions of customers

Start selling on Amazon


© 1999-2021, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates

Vendre sur Amazon Connexion
Cet article s'applique à la vente en : France

Processus de retours et de remboursements pour Prime Expédié par le vendeur

Cette page fournit des informations sur le traitement des retours client, y compris les attentes du vendeur et les mécanismes de traitement des exceptions.

Processus de retour client

Les retours Prime Expédié par le vendeur peuvent être initiés par le client via le Centre des retours en ligne. Les clients peuvent également contacter le service client Amazon à cet effet. Dans le processus de retour, un motif de retour est demandé au client. Le client peut également fournir des commentaires complémentaires facultatifs pour apporter davantage d'informations sur le motif du retour.

Tous les retours Prime Expédié par le vendeur conformes à la politique sont automatiquement autorisés. Nul besoin d'autoriser manuellement les retours. Toutefois, vous devez rembourser le client dans un délai de deux jours ouvrés suivant la réception du produit.

Amazon indique au client une échéance estimée pour un remboursement et le montant du remboursement. À la fin du processus, une autorisation de retour de la marchandise (RMA) est créée. Le transporteur de retour est Chronopost. Avec Chronopost, le client crée une autorisation de retour et vous demande de lui fournir une étiquette de retour. Vous disposez de 2 jours ouvrés pour fournir une étiquette de retour au client. Le client est invité à déposer le colis au dépôt Chronopost le plus proche.

Processus de retour via Chronopost

Ce processus vous sera applicable si vous utilisez Chronopost en tant que transporteur Prime Expédié par le Vendeur :

  1. Vous remplissez les « instructions de retour »* dans Seller Central (Paramètres des retours > Vos instructions de retour et copier/coller). Pour les instructions de retour à utiliser, voir ci-dessous.
  2. Les clients se rendent sur « Retours et remplacements » d'Amazon et demandent un retour.
  3. Le retour est automatiquement autorisé par Amazon.
  4. Les instructions sont indiquées au client (en bref : « Pour les commandes Prime, le vendeur vous fournira une étiquette prépayée sous 2 jours ouvrés »).
  5. Le client vous envoie un message pour vous demander de lui fournir une étiquette prépayée, conformément aux instructions de retour.
  6. Vous disposez de 2 jours ouvrés pour fournir une étiquette de retour Chronopost au client.
  7. Le client dépose le colis aux points de dépôt (il en existe 17 000 en France).
  8. Vous disposez de 48 h pour rembourser le client une fois le colis reçu à votre adresse.

Vous recevrez un dossier de retour et devrez fournir une étiquette de retour prépayée Chronopost dans les 2 jours ouvrés. Si le vendeur ne respecte pas ces accords sur le niveau de service, le client sera remboursé par le service client d'Amazon.

*Téléchargez ici les instructions de retour (à fournir dans Paramètres des retours)

Informations sur le suivi et le transporteur de retour

Si vous utilisez Chronopost pour le service Prime Expédié par le Vendeur, le transporteur de retour sera également Chronopost. Vous êtes tenu de générer l'étiquette prépayée depuis le système Chronopost et la fournir au client. Vous devriez disposer du numéro de suivi de l'étiquette générée.

Responsabilité en cas de remboursement

La responsabilité de rembourser le client pour un retour incombe principalement au vendeur. Une fois le colis reçu à l'adresse de retour du vendeur, celui-ci est tenu de rembourser le client dans un délai de deux jours ouvrés.

Toutefois, Amazon se réserve le droit de rembourser le client à tout moment. Si un client contacte le service client d'Amazon, car il n'a pas reçu le remboursement dans les délais, le service client peut décider, à sa seule discrétion, de rembourser l'acheteur. Dans ce cas, le remboursement sera facturé au vendeur.

Frais liés à l'étiquette de retour

Pour un retour Chronopost, les vendeurs doivent fournir au client une étiquette de retour dans un délai de deux jours ouvrés suivant la réception du dossier de retour.

Une fois que vous avez reçu le colis retourné, le vendeur peut déduire les frais de l'étiquette de retour du remboursement émis au client si les conditions suivantes sont remplies ::

  1. Si l'article appartient à la catégorie des Vêtements, Chaussures ou Sacs, les retours sont toujours gratuits, quel que soit le motif du retour. Le coût de l'étiquette ne peut pas être déduit.
  2. Dans d'autres cas,
    1. si le motif du retour relève de la "responsabilité du vendeur", le retour est alors gratuit. Le coût de l'étiquette ne peut pas être déduit.
    2. Si le motif de retour relève de la "responsabilité de l'acheteur", le coût de l'étiquette peut être déduit.
    Sl. nº Motif du retour Responsabilité
    1 Commande passée par erreur Acheteur
    2 Produit trouvé moins cher ailleurs Acheteur
    3 L'emballage est intact, mais l'article est endommagé Vendeur
    4 Date de livraison estimée dépassée Vendeur
    5 Pièces ou accessoires manquants Vendeur
    6 L'article ainsi que son emballage sont endommagés Vendeur
    7 Article différent de celui qui a été commandé Vendeur
    8 Défectueux ou ne fonctionne pas correctement Vendeur
    9 Arrivé en plus de ce qui a été commandé Vendeur
    10 N'est plus souhaité ou n'en a plus besoin Acheteur
    11 Achat non autorisé Vendeur
    12 Différent de la description sur le site Web Vendeur
    13 L'article a été endommagé au cours de la livraison Vendeur
    14 Performances ou qualité non adéquates Acheteur
    15 Incompatible ou inutile pour l'utilisation prévue Acheteur
    16 Article endommagé en raison d'un emballage inapproprié Vendeur
    17 Pièce incompatible avec le système existant Acheteur
    18 Installation excessive ou impossible Acheteur

Dans la plupart des cas, les clients utilisent le mode d'expédition de retour proposé par Amazon. Toutefois, à titre d'exception, certains clients peuvent être amenés à utiliser un autre service d'expédition de retour. Le service client d'Amazon a tous les droits de rembourser au client le prix de l'étiquette. En tant qu'exigence de ce programme, les vendeurs doivent accepter ces frais. Ces frais d'étiquette ne sont pas remboursables.

Remboursements sans retour

Parfois, le client peut être remboursé par Amazon mais le vendeur ne reçoit pas le produit en retour. Plusieurs raisons peuvent expliquer cela :

  1. Le suivi indique que l'article a été livré. Cependant, aucune demande de retour n'existe, bien que le client ait été remboursé. Cela peut être dû au fait que le client n'a jamais reçu le produit. Dans ce cas, les vendeurs peuvent réclamer le remboursement en contactant le support vendeur d'Amazon. (Notez que si le remboursement est justifié par un retard de livraison, ces commandes ne seront pas remboursées). Pour plus de détails, consultez la section Remboursements du service Prime Expédié par le vendeur.
  2. Le suivi n'indique pas que l'article a été livré. La date de livraison promise est dépassée et le client a été remboursé. Cela peut être dû au fait que le colis a été perdu ou égaré lors du transport par le transporteur. Dans ce cas, le vendeur doit contacter le transporteur pour un remboursement. Pour de telles demandes, contactez votre gestionnaire de compte transporteur ou appelez le : +0033 0 825 801 801 Chronopost.
  3. Le suivi indique que l'article a été livré et qu'une demande de retour existe pour la commande. Vérifiez le numéro de suivi du retour (disponible sur la page Gérer vos retours pour la commande). Si le client a renvoyé le produit, mais que celui-ci n'est pas parvenu au vendeur, il est possible que le colis ait été perdu ou égaré lors du transport par le transporteur. Dans ce cas, le vendeur doit contacter le transporteur pour un remboursement. Pour de telles demandes, contactez votre gestionnaire de compte transporteur ou appelez le : +0033 0 825 801 801 Chronopost.
  4. Certains produits (comme les produits d'hygiène, l’épicerie et les produits alimentaires, etc.) ne peuvent pas être retournés, conformément à la loi. Ces produits ne sont pas éligibles au retour et le service client d'Amazon peut rembourser le client sans retour. Ces commandes ne sont pas remboursables.

Le vendeur ne doit en aucun cas contacter le client afin que le produit lui soit renvoyé pour que la demande de retour soit valide. En fonction de la situation décrite ci-dessus, il peut réclamer à être remboursé par Amazon ou le transporteur.

Retours endommagés

Si le produit retourné est endommagé, le vendeur doit déterminer s'il a été endommagé par le transporteur (par exemple, des dommages causés par l'emballage ou le transport) ou par le client (par exemple, des pièces internes endommagées).

  1. Dommages causés par le transporteur : tout dommage doit être signalé au transporteur et le remboursement doit être demandé directement auprès du transporteur. Pour de telles demandes, contactez votre gestionnaire de compte transporteur ou appelez le : +0033 0 825 801 801 Chronopost.
  2. Dommages causés par le client : pour les retours d'articles endommagés par le client, le vendeur peut déduire jusqu'à 50 % maximum du prix de l'article du montant remboursé au client. Si le remboursement est effectué par le service client Amazon au client, le vendeur peut contacter le support vendeur d'Amazon pour un remboursement possible. Il peut être demandé au vendeur de fournir à Amazon des preuves (photo ou vidéo) des dommages causés par le client. Pour plus de détails, consultez la section Remboursements du service Prime Expédié par le vendeur.

Le vendeur ne doit en aucun cas contacter le client au sujet des problèmes liés aux dommages constatés sur le produit. En fonction de la situation décrite ci-dessus, il peut réclamer à être remboursé par Amazon ou le transporteur.

Retours autorisés en dehors du cadre de la politique standard

Le service client d'Amazon assure, et détermine, à sa seule discrétion, le service après-vente pour les articles Prime, notamment les retours client, les remboursements des articles Prime Expédié par le vendeur et les ajustements associés (tels que les remboursements sans retour, les remboursements complets ou partiels, les changements tarifaires appliqués par les vendeurs, les modifications des délais de livraison et des frais de livraison d'une commande, les remboursements des frais de livraison, l'annulation d'une commande ou les retours impliquant un remboursement en dehors des délais de retour fixés).

Pour tous les retours autorisés par le service client d'Amazon, même en dehors de la période de retour, le vendeur doit effectuer un remboursement intégral au client (à moins que le produit ne soit endommagé, auquel cas le vendeur peut déduire jusqu'à 50 % maximum du montant du remboursement) dans un délai de deux jours ouvrés suivant la réception du produit.

Consultez le service client pour le service Prime Expédié par le Vendeur pour en savoir plus.

Connectez-vous pour utiliser l'outil et obtenir une aide personnalisée (navigateur de bureau requis). Connexion


Atteignez des dizaines de millions de clients

Commencez à vendre sur Amazon


© 1999-2021, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates