Sell on Amazon Sign In
This article applies to selling in: France

Notification requirements prior to selling specific food products in the EU

Please note that it is your responsibility to comply with the EU notification requirements if you are selling or intend to sell food products in the EU. You must also comply with national laws and regulations in Member States, which implement EU law. This material is for informational purposes only. It is not intended as legal advice. We encourage you to consult your legal counsel if you have questions about the laws and regulations concerning your products.

EU requirements

EU Food Law applies to any food product sold in the EU and obliges food business operators at all stages of production, processing and distribution within the businesses under their control to ensure that foods satisfy the food law requirements and, in particular, that no unsafe food is sold in the EU (Regulation (EC) 178/2002).

"Food" means any substance or product, whether processed, partially processed or unprocessed intended to be, or reasonably expected to be ingested by humans.

Below are some examples of food products:

  • Infant milk formulas and weaning foods
  • Baking and cooking supplies
  • Beverages (including Beers, Wines and Spirits)
  • Ready-made meals
  • Meal replacements
  • Canned goods
  • Cereals
  • Condiments and spreads
  • Food supplements (including ‘health’, ‘nutritional’, ‘dietary’ and ‘beauty’ supplements)
  • Gift baskets & hampers
  • Pasta & grains
  • Snacks & desserts
  • Liquids (e.g. drinkable supplements, soups etc.)

The information that follows is not an exhaustive list of notification obligations prior to selling food products in the EU; additional notification obligations may arise, in particular, under the national laws of the EU Member States where you intend to sell your food products. Therefore, we encourage you to seek legal advice to ensure full compliance with the regulatory regime.

For certain food products listed below, EU Food Law includes notification or authorization requirements before such products are sold in the EU. This list is not intended to be exhaustive.

  • Food supplements

    Prior to selling food supplements in the EU, you must confirm whether you are required to notify the competent authority of each Member State in which your product is to be sold and comply with all applicable requirements prior to selling on Amazon (Directive 2002/46/EC).

    “Food supplements” means foodstuffs marketed in dose form intended to supplement the normal diet and which are concentrated sources of nutrients or other substances with a nutritional or physiological effect (Directive 2002/46/EC).

  • Infant formula and follow-on formula

    Prior to selling infant formula in the EU, you must notify the competent authority of each Member state in which your product is to be sold (Delegated Regulation (EU) 2016/127). Prior to selling follow-on formula containing certain substances listed under EU regulations, you must confirm whether you are required to notify the competent authority of each member state where you intend to sell your products and comply with applicable notification requirements prior to selling on Amazon.

    “Infant formula” means food intended for use by infants during the first months of life and satisfying by itself the nutritional requirements of such infants until the introduction of appropriate complementary feeding. “Follow-on formula” means food intended for use by infants when appropriate complementary feeding is introduced and which constitutes the principal liquid element in a progressively diversified diet of such infants.

  • Foods for special medical purposes

    Prior to selling food for special medical purposes in the EU, you must notify the competent authority of each Member State in which your product is to be sold (Delegated Regulation (EU) 2016/128).

    “Foods for special medical purposes” are foods designed to feed patients with medically nutrient requirements whose dietary management cannot be achieved by modification of the normal diet alone (Regulation (EU) 609/2013).

  • Diet replacement for weight control

    Prior to selling total diet replacements for weight control in the EU, you must notify the competent authority of each Member State in which your product is to be sold (Delegated Regulation (EU) 2017/1789).

    “Total diet replacement for weight control” means food specially formulated for use in energy restricted diets for weight reduction which, when used as instructed by the food business operator, replaces the whole daily diet (Regulation (EU) 609/2013).

  • Novel food

    Prior to selling any Novel foods or products containing Novel foods, you need to notify the competent authority and obtain all necessary authorizations (Regulation (EU) 2015/2283). "Novel food" means any food that had not been consumed to a significant degree by humans in the EU before 15 May 1997 and that is covered by at least one of the categories listed in the EU Regulation.

    A list of the EU novel food authorizations can be found here.

  • Food products containing food additives, food enzymes, and food flavorings

    Food products which contain food additives, food enzymes and/or food flavorings can be sold in the EU only if the respective food additive, food enzyme and/or food flavoring has been approved in the EU and will be used under the approved conditions (Regulation (EC) 1331/2008, Regulation (EC) 1333/2008, Regulation (EC) 1332/2008, Regulation (EC) 1334/2008).

    Lists of the relevant EU approvals can be found here:

    https://webgate.ec.europa.eu/foods_system/main/?sector=FAD&auth=SANCAS

    https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/DE/ALL/?uri=CELEX%3A32008R1331

Country-specific requirements

In France:

  • Dairy foods for special nutritional purposes

    Prior to selling dairy foods promoted as being particularly adapted to meet specific needs of young children, pregnant or breastfeeding women, convalescents, the elderly, and more generally any person who has special needs in terms of protein, essential fats, calcium, iron, you must notify the competent authority in France.

In Sweden:

  • “Free from” pre-packed food

    Prior to selling pre-packed food that is claimed to specifically not include any of the substances or products mentioned in Annex 2 of the EU Regulation 1169/2011, you must notify the Swedish Food Agency.

UK requirements

EU food laws have been retained in UK law following Brexit. Foods sold in England, Wales and/or Scotland (GB) must comply with UK law, including retained EU laws. Under the Northern Ireland Protocol, foods sold in Northern Ireland (NI) must continue to comply with EU food laws.

Sign in to use the tool and get personalized help (desktop browser required). Sign In


Reach hundreds of millions of customers

Start selling on Amazon


© 1999-2021, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates

Vendre sur Amazon Connexion
Cet article s'applique à la vente en : France

Exigences en matière de notification avant la vente de produits alimentaires spécifiques dans l’UE

Notez qu’il est de votre responsabilité de vous conformer aux exigences de notification de l’UE si vous vendez ou comptez vendre des produits alimentaires dans l’UE. Vous devez également respecter les lois et réglementations nationales en vigueur dans les États membres, qui appliquent la législation européenne. Ce document est fourni à titre informatif uniquement. Il n’a aucune vocation juridique. Nous vous recommandons de contacter un conseiller juridique si vous avez des questions sur les réglementations régissant votre produit.

Exigences de l’UE

La législation européenne sur les denrées alimentaires s'applique à tous les produits alimentaires vendus dans l’UE et oblige les exploitants du secteur alimentaire à tous les niveaux de la production, du traitement et de la distribution au sein des entreprises sous leur contrôle de s’assurer que les denrées alimentaires respectent les exigences de la législation sur les denrées alimentaires et, en particulier, qu'aucune denrée alimentaire dangereuse n’est vendue dans l’UE (règlement (CE) 178/2002).

« Denrée alimentaire » désigne tout produit ou substance, qu’il ou elle soit traité(e), partiellement transformé(e) ou non, destiné(e) à être ingéré(e) par des êtres humains ou raisonnablement susceptible d’être ingéré(e) par des êtres humains.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des exemples de produits alimentaires :

  • Formules de lait pour nourrissons et aliments de sevrage
  • Produits de cuisine et de cuisson
  • Boissons (y compris bières, vins et spiritueux)
  • Plats cuisinés
  • Substituts de repas
  • Conserves
  • Céréales
  • Condiments et pâtes à tartiner
  • Compléments alimentaires (y compris les compléments « santé », « nutritionnels », « diététiques » et « beauté »)
  • Paniers cadeaux et corbeilles
  • Pâtes et céréales
  • Snacks et desserts
  • Liquides (suppléments à boire, soupes, etc.)

Les informations suivantes ne constituent pas une liste exhaustive des obligations de notification avant de vendre des produits alimentaires dans l’UE ; des obligations de notification supplémentaires peuvent découler, en particulier, des lois nationales des États membres de l’UE dans lesquels vous avez l'intention de vendre vos produits alimentaires. Nous vous encourageons par conséquent à obtenir une aide juridique afin de vous assurer d’être en conformité totale avec le cadre réglementaire.

Pour certains produits alimentaires répertoriés ci-dessous, la législation européenne sur les denrées alimentaires inclut des exigences de notification ou d’autorisation avant la vente de ces produits dans l’UE. Cette liste n’est pas exhaustive.

  • Compléments alimentaires

    Avant de vendre des compléments alimentaires dans l’Union européenne, vous devez vérifier si vous devez notifier l’autorité compétente de chaque État membre dans lequel votre produit doit être vendu et respecter toutes les exigences applicables avant de pouvoir vendre sur Amazon (directive 2002/46/CE).

    « Compléments alimentaires » désigne les denrées alimentaires commercialisées sous forme posologique destinées à compléter l’alimentation normale et qui sont des sources concentrées de nutriments ou d’autres substances ayant un effet nutritionnel ou physiologique (directive 2002/46/CE).

  • Laits infantiles et des préparations de suite

    Avant de vendre des laits infantiles dans l’UE, vous devez informer l’autorité compétente de chaque État membre dans lequel votre produit doit être vendu (règlement délégué (UE) 2016/127). Avant de vendre des préparations de suite contenant certaines substances répertoriées dans la législation européenne, vous devez vérifier si vous êtes tenu d’informer l’autorité compétente de chaque État membre dans lequel vous comptez vendre vos produits et vous conformer aux exigences de notification applicables avant de vendre sur Amazon.

    « Lait infantile » désigne les denrées alimentaires destinées aux nourrissons au cours des premiers mois de vie et répondant à tous les besoins nutritionnels de ces nourrissons jusqu’à l’introduction d’une alimentation complémentaire appropriée. «Préparations de suite» désigne les denrées alimentaires destinées aux nourrissons lorsque l’alimentation complémentaire appropriée est introduite et qui constituent l’élément liquide principal d’un régime progressivement diversifié de ces nourrissons.

  • Aliments à des fins médicales spéciales

    Avant de vendre des aliments à des fins médicales spéciales dans l’UE, vous devez en informer l’autorité compétente de chaque État membre dans lequel votre produit sera vendu (règlement délégué (UE) 2016/128).

    Les « aliments à des fins médicales spéciales » sont des aliments destinés à alimenter les patients ayant des besoins en nutriments médicaux et dont la gestion diététique ne peut pas être réalisée uniquement par la modification d’un régime normal (règlement (UE) 609/2013).

  • Substituts alimentaires pour le contrôle du poids

    Avant de vendre des substituts alimentaires complets pour le contrôle du poids au sein de l’Union européenne, vous devez en informer l’autorité compétente de chaque État membre dans lequel votre produit doit être vendu (règlement délégué (UE) 2017/1789).

    « Substituts alimentaires complets pour le contrôle du poids » désigne les aliments spécialement formulés destinés aux régimes hypocaloriques en vue de perdre du poids qui, lorsqu’ils sont utilisés conformément aux instructions de l’exploitant du secteur alimentaire, remplace l’ensemble de l’alimentation quotidienne (règlement (UE) 609/2013).

  • Nouveaux aliments

    Avant de vendre de nouveaux aliments ou de nouveaux produits contenant de nouveaux aliments, vous devez en informer l’autorité compétente et obtenir toutes les autorisations nécessaires (règlement (UE) 2015/2283). « Nouveaux aliments » désigne les aliments qui n'ont pas été consommés de façon significative par des humains dans l’UE avant le 15 mai 1997 et qui sont couverts par au moins l’une des catégories répertoriées dans la réglementation de l’Union européenne.

    Une liste des nouvelles autorisations alimentaires de l’UE est disponible ici.

  • Produits alimentaires contenant des additifs alimentaires, des enzymes alimentaires et des arômes alimentaires

    Les produits alimentaires contenant des additifs alimentaires, des enzymes alimentaires et/ou des arômes alimentaires ne peuvent être vendus dans l’UE que si l’additif alimentaire, l’enzyme alimentaire et/ou l’arôme alimentaire respectif a été autorisé par l’UE et sera utilisé dans les conditions approuvées (règlement (CE) 1331/2008, règlement (CE) 1333/2008, règlement (CE) 1332/2008, règlement (CE) 1334/2008).

    Vous trouverez la liste des autorisations de l’UE pertinentes ici :

    https://webgate.ec.europa.eu/foods_system/main/?sector=FAD&auth=SANCAS

    https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/DE/ALL/?uri=CELEX%3A32008R1331

Exigences spécifiques à chaque pays

En France :

  • Produits laitiers à des fins nutritionnelles spéciales

    Avant de vendre des produits laitiers présentés comme étant particulièrement adaptés pour répondre aux besoins spécifiques des jeunes enfants, des femmes enceintes ou qui allaitent, des convalescents, des personnes âgées et plus généralement de toute personne ayant des besoins particuliers en termes de protéines, de graisses essentielles, de calcium et de fer, vous devez en informer l’autorité compétente en France.

En Suède :

  • Aliments préemballés « exempts de »

    Avant de vendre des aliments préemballés qui sont prétendus ne contenir spécifiquement aucune des substances ou produits mentionnés dans l’annexe 2 du règlement UE 1169/2011, vous devez en informer l’administration nationale de l’alimentation suédoise.

Exigences pour le Royaume-Uni

Les lois sur les denrées alimentaires de l’UE ont été conservées dans la législation britannique après le Brexit. Les denrées alimentaires vendues en Angleterre, au Pays de Galles et/ou en Écosse (GB) doivent être conformes à la législation du Royaume-Uni, y compris aux lois européennes en vigueur. En vertu du protocole d’Irlande du Nord, les denrées alimentaires vendues en Irlande du Nord doivent continuer de respecter la législation européenne sur les denrées alimentaires.

Connectez-vous pour utiliser l'outil et obtenir une aide personnalisée (navigateur de bureau requis). Connexion


Atteignez des dizaines de millions de clients

Commencez à vendre sur Amazon


© 1999-2021, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates